Wildcard round winners announced

Wildcard round winners announced

Over the course of the past week, our wildcards have been allocated. These have been allocated by the finalists of last year's Awards for the HiiL Innovating Justice Award - Innovative Idea 2013 and the HiiL Innovating Justice Award - Successful Innovation 2013, and the HiiL scouting team for the Human Rights Tulip.

In all three competitions, they have handed out their wildcards to an additional three entries they deem to be the worthiest of the "runners up" - those not already in the top three of the voting (which closed on 18 October).

By handing out wildcards in this way, we have enabled the nominees with smaller networks to reach the pool of finalists as well.

Here is the complete list of entries going forward to the finals:-

Human Rights Tulip

Innovative Ideas

Successful Innovations

A professional jury will now evaluate all 18 finalists in the three categories of award, finishing their deliberations in mid-November. The main criteria in assessing the winning entry are:

  • The uniqueness
  • The sustainability
  • The scalability of the project and its possibility to implement it in other jurisdictions

The jury members are:-

  • Anne van Aaken, Professor of International Law & Economics, University of St Gallen, Switzerland
  • Hassane Cisse, Deputy General Counsel Knowledge and Research, Legal Vice Presidency World Bank, United States
  • Gabriela Knaul, Special Rapporteur on the Independence of Judges and Lawyers, United Nations, Switzerland
  • John Morrison, Executive Director, Institute for Business and Human Rights, United Kingdom 
  • Barbara Oomen, Dean of College Roosevelt University, Netherlands.

The three winners (Human Rights Tulip winner, Best Innovative Idea and Best Successful Innovation) will be announced at the awards ceremony on 11 December 2013.