Winners of the Innovating Justice voting round announced

Winners of the Innovating Justice voting round announced

The votes have been counted and verified. The results are in!

Voting closed on Friday 18 October for the voting round of both the Human Rights Tulip and Innovating Justice. Over 20 000 votes were cast for the 93 different entries.

Here are the winners of the voting round:

Human Rights Tulip

Innovative Ideas

Successful Innovations

Now we move onto the next stage.

For the Innovative Ideas and Successful Innovations competitions, the finalists of last year's Awards will hand out 'wild cards' to an additional three entries in each category they judge to be the best of those who did not come in the top three of the voting.

For the Human Rights Tulip, HiiL's scouting team will hand out their 'wild cards' to an additional three entries they deem to be the worthiest of the "runners up" - again, those not in the top three of the voting..

By handing out wild cards in this way, we enable the nominees with smaller networks to reach the pool of finalists as well.

Finally, a professional jury will evaluate all 18 finalists in the three categories of award. The main criteria in assessing the winning entry are:

  • The uniqueness
  • The sustainability
  • The scalability of the project and its possibility to implement it in other jurisdictions

The jury members are:-

  • Anne van Aaken, Professor of International Law & Economics, University of St Gallen, Switzerland
  • Hassane Cisse, Deputy General Counsel Knowledge and Research, Legal Vice Presidency World Bank, United States
  • Gabriela Knaul, Special Rapporteur on the Independence of Judges and Lawyers, United Nations, Switzerland
  • John Morrison, Executive Director, Institute for Business and Human Rights, United Kingdom 
  • Barbara Oomen, Dean of College Roosevelt University, Netherlands.

The three winners (Human Rights Tulip winner, Best Innovative Idea and Best Successful Innovation) will be announced at the awards ceremony on 11 December 2013.